South Carolina's Literary Heritage

The South Carolina Academy of Authors was founded at Anderson College in 1986. Its principal purpose is to identify and recognize the state's distinguished writers and to promote their literature's influence on our cultural heritage. Public recognition of our state's literary hall of fame not only serves to increase the general readership of authors working today but also leads to the rediscovery of works from the past.

The Academy board selects new inductees annually whose works have been judged culturally important. Each inductee, whether living or deceased, has added to South Carolina's literary legacy by earning notable scholarly attention or achieving historical prominence.

The Academy also maintains two annual fellowship competitions for emerging writers. The Carrie McCray Nickens Fellowship for poets and the Fiction Fellowship each award $1,000.00 to eligible state residents. The fellowship competitions are open with judges selected from out of state.

Although not a state agency, the South Carolina Academy of Authors benefits from close affiliations with the South Carolina State Library, the South Carolina Arts Commission, and many of the state's colleges, universities, and corporations. A more complete list of our Partners, past and present, is above.

Contact us- If you wish to learn more about the Academy and its sponsored events, you may do so by contacting any member of the Board of Governors or by emailing the Academy's Chair.